Place Names and Places of Nova Scotia (in Dartmouth Township)

dart-township-1865 map

“Whereas some uncertainty exists as regards the limits of the Township of Dartmouth… Be it therefore enacted by the Lieutenant Governor, Council and Assembly, that the lines of the Township of Dartmouth shall be established and settled as follows, beginning on the Eastern side of Bedford Basin at the head of Pace’s cove at low … Read more

Overlooking (Dartmouth)

halifax harbor

Overlooking Halifax, Nova Scotia,, 1968. Ivan Doig Archive, Montana State University (MSU) Library, Bozeman, MT

Halifax Military Town Plan

“Halifax Military Town Plan”, Military town plan, series A901 ; ASE 301. 1st ed. “Produced by the Army Survey Establishment, R.C.E., 1963.”

Body politic, Body corporate ⁠— City limits

dartmouth city limits

An examination of the legislated spatial dimensions of Dartmouth – from its initial definition as a township, care of the Royal instructions that accompanied Cornwallis in 1749, to its dissolution by fiat into a county masquerading as a city in Nova Scotia’s municipal coup of 1996. “And whereas for the better security, regulation and government … Read more

The Electoral Behaviour of Nova Scotia in 1965

“Within the constituencies, too, the Conservative gains appear to have been quite uniform. Robert McCleave and Michael Forrestall improved their party’s fortunes by comparable amounts throughout the City of Halifax, the City of Dartmouth, and the municipality of the County of Halifax.” Beck, J. Murray “The Electoral Behaviour of Nova Scotia in 1965” Dalhousie Review, … Read more

Dartmouth in the Legislature, Public Acts 1789-1996

A list of all of the acts passed in the Nova Scotia legislature from 1789-1996 in regards to Dartmouth, be it “Dartmouth Town”, the “Dartmouth town plot”, “Dartmouth township”, the “Town of Dartmouth” or the “City of Dartmouth”.

Dartmouth Common Swimming Pool

dartmouth common pool

What is now a flower garden at the corner of Alderney Drive (and what used to be) Park Avenue. On the part of Park Avenue seen extending across Alderney Drive is a clue as to the number of buildings that once dotted the shoreline, mostly industrial, all since demolished, lands that have remained vacant for … Read more