Map and Directory of Information Halifax and Dartmouth and Vicinity, Nova Scotia

No hint of a beltway or a rotary here, but several subdivision plans for the Woodlawn and Westphal sections, Crichton Park (now “Mic Mac Village”), as well as Manor Park. Shearwater Airport clearly played a more important role at this point as a “city” airport, connected by Airport Road running along the west side of Morris Lake from Cole Harbor Road. “Breakheart hill” is noted along with a number of communities including Shearwater, Imperoyal, Woodside, Woodlawn, Westphal, Port Wallis, Albro Lake and Tufts Cove.

Some “bold claims” (propaganda), also included with this map, the facts about Canada section asserts “Canada has complete self-government and independence”. đŸ€”

“Map and Directory of Information Halifax and Dartmouth and Vicinity, Nova Scotia”, Mapco. 1956. https://archives.novascotia.ca/maps/archives/?ID=1673&Page=202012450

Dartmouth, Aerial View

Dartmouth, 1950s

St. Peter’s Church seen at upper middle, First Baptist at Victoria at middle right. Christ Church at middle, Victoria Road Baptist church is seen a block behind between it and its hall, Grace United Church is seen at middle bottom, (what I believe was) another Baptist church a block closer on Ochterloney near where the original St. Peter’s stood, Post Office at middle right.

St. James Church at five corners seen here with Dartmouth Medical Center across the street. Starr Manufacturing is the long dark colored building along Prince Albert Road to its left, the old Hawthorne School at the upper right, Silver’s Road directly ahead at top middle.

Bus depot at far left, Dartmouth Ferry Terminal at bottom left, the ferry is docked. Nova Scotia Power Dartmouth Division at middle left, Stern’s corner at middle right, Jacobson’s at far right.

This whole neighborhood was essentially disappeared through “urban renewal”, Boggs Street is now the extent of Alderney Drive and parking lots, Green Street has all but disappeared since, too. So many Quaker homes and other historical relics lost to the wrecking ball. Much of the land has sat vacant for many decades since, as with the land along the waterfront to the north of Downtown, up through the Church Street, Park Avenue and Edward Street lands that lay next to the Common.

“Dartmouth, Halifax Co.: Aerial View”, 1930 (certainly not 1930, perhaps some time in the late 1950s?). https://archives.novascotia.ca/photocollection/archives/?ID=5276

Dartmouth Bridge Plaza and Shopping Center, (Dartmouth Common), 1958

“Dartmouth Bridge Plaza and Shopping Center”, 1958. https://archives.novascotia.ca/information-service/archives/?ID=1210

Dartmouth Ball field is seen front and center on Wyse Road at the Bridge Plaza, a close up below shows the area surrounding City hall previous to its construction on what is now Alderney Dr.

https://archives.novascotia.ca/photocollection/archives/?ID=5277

Local Government in Nova Scotia

Background:Although there were no parliamentary institutions of any kind in the area during the French regime, local government of one sort or another has existed in Nova Scotia from the founding of Port Royal in 1605. It began not with elected municipal councils, nor with incorporated towns and cities, not even with the Court of … Read more

Old Stone House: On North St. to Rear of Belmont Hotel

old stone house

“Old stone house on North Street to rear of Belmont Hotel. Sole remaining house of stone construction for all walls. Exact age unknown – century or more at least built in 1830s. Has been residence of Frank Greene for 40 years. See article by Wetmore in Halifax Mail Star, March 12, 1954, or see “Story of Dartmouth” book. Photo by Wetmore.” https://archives.novascotia.ca/photocollection/archives/?ID=5323&Page=201742643

“Believed to be over 125 years old and the sole remaining old stone house in Dartmouth, this staunch residence is one of Dartmouth’s landmarks. It was once a school and is said to be built of Shubenacadie Canal stones.”

Sturdy Old House Takes Town Back 125 Years

A relic of the past, the sole remaining old stone house in Dartmouth, has historical walls which – could they but speak, might have many tales of an early Dartmouth to tell. Solidly rising from the corner of North and Edward Streets in Dartmouth, the landmark is believed to be over 125 years old. For many years now, antique lovers or those who relish the solid, simple lines, characteristic of some 18th century architecture, have been captivated by the impressive edifice at first glance.

Many Visit

Mrs. Frank Greene, owner and resident of the house, reports that many times cars have stopped outside the house while the occupants stared at the weathered stones and firm lines of the building.

Several times strangers have come to her door, and asked Mrs. Greene if it would be possible to see inside the house and every time Mrs. Greene has willingly obliged.

Mrs. Greene – and until last year her husband, the late Frank G. Greene – has lived in the old stone house for over 40 years.

There is no cellar under the house and the walls rise straight up from the rock bottom. Stones that built these walls could have come from the old Shubenacadie canal locks, it is thought.

Inside? … Well, there have been some changes made since a century ago but the principle is the same.

Th rooms for the most part are large, the walls thick, and there are three floors including the ground one. On the first and second floors there are spacious rooms that must have been living rooms or parlous at one time, although both are in use they are not utilized as such today.

Beside a couple of bedrooms on the second floor there are two more large ones up a narrow flight of stairs, and under the eaves. In any case, the total is eight rooms altogether.

There is no basement under the house and consequently no central heating unit. Each room has its own individual coal stove which until recently was the sole means of heating the large building. When the Greene’s moved to the house several fire-places and gates were to be found in the larger rooms. these have since been boarded for, as they were not often used, they proved to be what Mrs. Greene termed as “dirt catchers”.

Other renovations included that of the inside color scheme which has changed often in the course of time. Also the windows were originally composed of many small panes of glass which were replaced with larger sheets of glass after the 1918 (sic) Halifax Explosion.

Historian Comments

One of the early owners of the property – at what is now 17 North Street, was John Hawthorne, who died about 1820. The next record of any owner is that of a Thomas Miller, a blacksmith connected with the old Shubenacadie Canal. Local historian J. P. Martin said he thought it possible that Miller might have built the house around 1830 which, he said, would explain the presence of sturdy stones that might have come from the canal.

John Tempest, a leading one time figure in the Halifax business world, was the next known occupant.

Becomes School

Then the stone residence became a private school which was run by Mrs. William Forbes, mother of Rev. E. W. Forbes, Hawthorne Street, Dartmouth. Mrs. Forbes was the former Mrs. Agnes Russell, the late sister of Judge Benjamin Russell. It was after she was a widow that Mrs. Forbes opened school in the house.

A teacher, presumably, stands in the doorway, while another boy is sitting in a pony-cart complete with pony. The road by the house is vague and not yet defined by curb and gutter.

A gifted and talented marine architect and shipbuilder who lived around the latter part of the 19th century, occupied the old stone house until turn of the century when he died. He was Ebenezer Moseley of Halifax, Dartmouth and Le-Have.”

“Old Stone house”, 1954. https://archives.novascotia.ca/photocollection/archives/?ID=5321

“Old Stone House”, 1954. https://archives.novascotia.ca/photocollection/archives/?ID=5322

North at Edward today…

Annual Report 1951

The Mayor’s Report

Citizens of Dartmouth, Ladies and Gentlemen:

I have the honor to submit my report as Mayor of the year 1951. The year just closed marked another year of progress for Dartmouth, one in which the official census figures showed a population in excess of 15,000, an increase of 40 percent over the 1941 census.

During the year 1951 we marked the completion of our new Junior High School, which is widely acclaimed as the most modern in its field, and also observed the official opening of the Dartmouth Memorial Rink. Both of these were in. operation during the year and are filling a long-felt need in the Town. An addition to Notting Park Elementary school was also started late in the year.

Good progress was made in the special water project involving the construction of a reservoir outside the Town. Further progress was also made in the Windmill Road widening project. Both of these undertakings are scheduled for completion in 1952.

The Harbour Bridge came a step nearer with the expropriation of land by the Bridge Commission and the removal of many homes from the site.

Curb, gutter and sidewalk work was slowed somewhat due to credit restrictions as was new housing, however, business expansion continued with the completion of the Dominion Store and the Wool-worth building. Building by-laws were approved and are now available in a convenient booklet.

Debenture issues by the Town were very well received; we continue to enjoy an excellent reputation in financial circles. The re-assesment survey started in January was completed ahead of schedule, raising our assessments to approximately $21,000,000.

For the first time in history, Town elections were held on the first Tuesday in December with the newly elected members of Council taking office on January first. These elections were marked by the election of our first lady councillor.

Two hundred and fourteen prefabricated houses were purchased from the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation at $1000 each and were permanized by placing concrete foundations under them and making ether repairs at an additional cost of approximately $1000 per house. These houses were offered first to the occupants and then to other citizens at $2800, $3000 and $3200, making low cost housing available to many. They will ultimately show a substantial profit to the Town.

The Civil Defence program made steady progress through 1951. Three members of the organization took special courses in Ottawa at the expense of the Federal government and others plan to take courses during 1952. The nucleus of an organization is set up and plans are being carried out to expand further during 1952.

Traffic conditions were given special study by a committee of the Chamber of Commerce and Town Safety committee and some measures to improve conditions were undertaken immediately and recommendations concerning traffic lights were referred to the in-coming Council.

The Works committee budget was the largest in the history of the Town and many new streets were constructed, particularly in the south end of the Town. The patching program was started earlier and the street sweeping service extended. Flood conditions at the Lake Road and at the foot of Synott’s Hill were corrected during the year and a section of the Lake Road was resurfaced. We should look forward to further development of a paving program in 1952-53.

Welfare costs rose sharply in 1951 due to increased hospital rates. The Police and Fire Departments continue to expand with the increased demands being made on them.

I should like to express my thanks to the members of Council and the various committees and also to Town employees and citizens generally for the co-operation afforded me during the year.

I have the honor to be, Yours faithfully, C. H. MORRIS, Mayor.

Finance Committee

The steadily rising cost of living index made its weight felt in Dartmouth finances In 1951 with the result that the tax rate showed a slight increase, fifteen cents over the previous year, or $4.40 per $100 of assessment. Continued expansion and need for further services and facilities also contributed towards the slight increase in the rate.

Total revenues in the Town during that period amounted to $670,558, the largest ever recorded in the Town’s history. Despite this fact, however, a deficit of $25,000 was shown on the year’s operation.

Main reason for the deficit was an unexpected increase in the cost of hospital services to the Town which in themselves resulted in a deficit of $10,000. In addition temporary borrowing debt charges, covering the Memorial Rink and Bicentennial Junior High School amounted to $12,000 while the Works Department was over-expended an amount of $5000. These combined with the small surpluses shown by several committees resulted in an overall deficit.

The Finance committee points out that during 1951 an amount of $13,500 was included in the budget covering the Town’s costs the Halifax County Vocational High School in Halifax. This had not been paid at the end of the year, but was due and is being held in a special reserve account for this purpose.

Total assessment for the Town of Dartmouth during the year 1951 was $12,000,175. The amount of taxable property in the town amounted to $9,455,475. During the year a reassessment survey was undertaken and this is dealt with under a separate report.

New Town Clerk Appointed

town hall

During the year R. D. Thomson, Town Clerk who had been in the employ of the Town for 13 years, resigned from that post to accept employment in private business.

The loss of such an efficient employee, and one who was held in such high regard by the Department of Municipal Affairs and leading Municipal figures throughout Nova Scotia was a serious blow to the Town.

Fortunately the Town was in the position of having a capable Deputy Town Clerk in Clifford A. Moir who was able to step into the vacancy resulting from Mr. Thomson’s resignation and who has since carried on in a well qualified and capable manner.

A full time tax collector in the person of Reginald Bonang was appointed during the year and he aIso served in the dual capacity as collector of public welfare accounts an d tax collector. As a direct result of his efforts; a marked increase was shown in collection of accounts.

Revenues for the Water Department stood at $132,423.49 during the year as compared to revenues of $128,978.10 in the previous year. All properties in the Dartmouth area are now metered and number approximately 3000. Gross surplus for the Water Department as of the end of the year stood at $43,362.82.

During the past year the Town put off the issuance or further debentures and as a result overdraft interest running as high as $1000 a month was being paid the bank. Purpose of delaying the Issuance of debentures was the higher rate of interest which would have had to be paid during that time because of the unsteady fluctuation of the bond market. This item alone contributed materially towards the over-expenditure experienced during the year.

During 1951 the Town purchased 214 prefabricated houses in North Dartmouth from Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation and permanized them with the installation of permanent foundation walls and other minor improvements. These were then offered for sale, first to the original tenants and then to eligible purchasers as they became available. The buildings were sold at prices of $2800, $3000 and $3200, depending upon the size.

The Dartmouth Park

Virtually all the efforts of the Dartmouth Park Commission in 1951 were concentrated in one section, the downtown corner of the Town Park bordered by Synott’s Hill and Park Avenue.

Chairman of the Park Commission Walter Meredith explained that the $2250 allotted by the Town to the Park Com-mission during the year was expended in this section, as the Commission felt this area was most often seen by motorists passing through Town, and most used by residents of the Town.

Construction of a lovely rock garden was the main project of the beautification program and this to date has met with considerable public favour. Due to the roughness and steep slope of this area it was decided that a terraced rock garden was most practical. Footwalks were cut through the garden and these were gravelled. Retaining walls were constructed and the whole area was planted with shrubs, many of which were donated by Towns· people and which helped greatly to beautify the garden. Other donations of suitable plants or shrubs will be accepted gratefully by the Commission.

Most of the money available was expended on labor and the remainder went towards providing grass seed, fertilizer and plants.

Regular maintenance of other Park districts, including upkeep of paths and driveways, was also continued throughout the year by the two man staff. Only tree planting undertaken in the Park during the year was a donation by the Dartmouth Lions Club in the form of a group of trees planted around the cenotaph in the centre of the Park.

During the year the Birch Cove property at the Dartmouth Lakes was turned over by the Town to the Commission and plans for beautification and clearing out of this area are now under consideration.

Public Health and Welfare

Increases in costs of hospitalization and medical care were responsible for almost half of the total amount the Town budget was over-expended in 1951. Of an estimated expenditure of approximately $21,000. total costs of Public Health and Welfare to the Town amounted to $31,125.90, a $10,000 increase.

Some of this amount is recoverable, but under the present legislation hospital debts incurred by Dartmouth residents are the responsibility of the Town for immediate payment, and the Town must collect payment from the persons responsible. Far example in 1951 total hospital costs to the Town amounted to $24,067.95 of which $5064.79 was recovered, leaving a balance of $19,003.16.

Grants to private charity organizations throughout the year totaled $3950. This amount was’ made u p of donations as follows: Victorian Order of Nurses $3000: Halifax Visiting Dispensary $200; Canadian National Institute of the Blind $200; Children’s Hospital $250 and Salvation Army $300.

Maintenance of inmates in charitable institutions during the year cost the Town of Dartmouth $6,266.47 of which $5,642 was expended at the Halifax County Home.

One bright spot , attributed to the relative prosperity of this area, was the fact that the cost of food, fuel and burial charges for indigents amounted to on1y $208.87.

Child Welfare investigations and ·work undertaken by the committee in the 1951 period cost a total amount of $Z773.95 including payment of $1943.77 to the Department of Child Welfare.

The polio epidemic which struck Nova Scotia last summer paid a visit to Dartmouth and sent a number of patients to hospital resulting in an unexpected expenditure in this field. The total cost of the epidemic to the Town of Dartmouth was $3742.85 of which $1197.40 has already been collected leaving a balance of $2545.45 uncollected, some of which is recoverable.

Medical Health

Medical Health in Dartmouth lost one of its Fathers in the death of the Town’s beloved Medical Health Officer Dr. H . A. Payzant.

Committee members, especially ‘appreciating the amount of time and effort the deceased had put into his work as Medical Health Officer in Dartmouth, have expressed their sincere regret in hi s passing. The Town Council meeting in a special session passed a special motion of regret at the passing of a man who had done so much to keep Dartmouth school children well, and the Town’s health at a high standard.

His efforts were centered around the work of the Victorian Order of Nurses in Dartmouth who achieved a great amount of work in Dartmouth schools during the 1951 period.

During the year the V.O.N. continued their educational program including Well Baby Clinics, School Nursing, Immunization Clinics and Health Supervision.

In 1951 the Nurses held 80 well baby clinics with 1353 babies examined. and advice offered. to mothers, 312 babies were immunized against diphtheria and whooping cough, while 132 were vaccinated. A total of 708 visits were made to babies in their homes for health supervision.

In the school nursing service provided by the V.O.N. the nurses checked 2867 children attending classes, having to exclude only 17 children for various reasons during the year. Defects discovered in various checks were reported to parents. A rapid inspection of all students was done three times during the year, while 90 children received free dental care at 7 dental clinics. 702 students were immunized against diphtheria, whooping cough and tetanus. 1500 students were given the tuberculin patch test with all positive re-actors and high school students being x-rayed by the MobiIechest x-ray unit. No active cases of tuberculosis were found.

Public Works Department

Expenditure of over $70,000 on street construction 2nd maintenance in 1951 highlight-ed a busy year for the Public Works Department. During the year a general policy of maintaining present good. streets and doing a small amount of new work was initiated with an overall plan which is hoped within the next few years to put all Dartmouth streets in good repair.

Of this amount approximately $10,000 was expended on an extensive patching program throughout the whole Town, designed to keep present streets from deteriorating as much as possible. The Town Engineer, J . Walter Lahey explained that many of the older Town streets are worn out and the Town is confronted with the same repair work year after year, until gradually these areas can be completely replaced.

After the patching program in 1951, came considerable construction of new streets. Included among those which received primer and penetration asphalt during that period were sections of Church street, Park Avenue, Thistle Street and Victoria Road, while complete jobs were done on Stairs, Howe and Wallace streets. In addition to this treatment, application of more material was given to the end of Haig Street, the upper end of Hester Street, all of Johnstone Avenue. all of Dustan Street, Fenwick Street, Rodney Road, Milverton Road, Murray Hill Drive, Blink Bonnie Terrace, part of Old Ferry Road, Newcastle Street, part of Maitland Street. Erskine Street, George Street, Bligh Street, part of School Street, Harris Street, Cairn Street, Graham, Murray and Francis Streets, and part of Crichton Avenue. Some street construction, in conjunction with sewer extensions was undertaken on Best Street which was reconstructed from Fairbanks Street to Shore Road, out of virtually solid bed rock. Catch pits were installed on Mott Street.

In addition to these, a considerable amount of time and money was expended in a tremendous improvement to the Prince Albert Road entrance to the town where a storm sewer was constructed in front of the MicMac club, and the street was repaved. This project, costing approximately $15,000, was financed half by the Town and half by the Province. There were no excessive snow removal costs in 1951, but from five to six thousand dollars was expended in sanding and salting streets. Three carloads of salt were put on Town streets using the new salt spreader, a modern piece of equipment purchased. by the Department during the year. It proved to be a most efficient and economical piece of machinery.

Other pieces of equipment purchased by the Town Works Department during the year Included the Hough loader at a cost of $16,000. This versatile piece of equipment proved exceptionally valuable to the Town and performed far more efficiently than anticipated. Complete with a snow plow attachment it was used for this purpose, as well as a bulldozer during the remainder of the season, and as a loader for both snow and earth. Another versatile piece of equipment was the self-propelled tractor compressor which was purchased in the Fall and was used in addition as a sidewalk snowplow in the winter. Dartmouth was a step ahead of most other places in the Province in purchasing this type of modern equipment but since their value has been proven locally many other areas have purchased the various new machines mentioned.

The long-overlooked drainage problem at the Dartmouth Park at the corner of Park Avenue and Commercial Street was solved during 1951 by the construction of a storm sewer up the side of the hill and across the Park to the juncture of School Street and Wyse Road. As a result of this work there have been no floods or wash-outs since, in this area.

Water and sewer extensions handled by the Works Department during 1951 included work on Milverton Road, Crichton Park Road, Clear View Crescent, Murray Hill Drive, and Victoria Road. A major undertaking during the year in this phase of the work was the commencement, and near completion, of a sewer installation up Prince Albert Road to Hawthorne, to connect with the Crichton Avenue sewer and aimed at alleviating a serious problem resulting from the small sized sewer originally serving this fast-developing section. This important installation will cost approximately $35,000.

The Windmill Road ·widening project, a plan which has been under consideration by the Town of Dartmouth since 1918, finally bore fruit in 1951 when property was acquired from residents bordering along the street to enable a wider street construction. The subsequent disposal of a building, and straightening of the street was undertaken but; due to a failure of the Provincial government to finalize negotiations covering the cost of paving the artery, this work had to be delayed until 1952.

An estimated two miles of curb, gutter and sidewalk were constructed in Dartmouth in 1951. Streets to. receive this attention included Johnstone A venue, Dahlia Street, Pine Street, and Wind:: mill Road (section Lyle Street to School Street). Due to the fluctuating bond and financial market the Department of Municipal Affairs advised against borrowing any further money for such work this year, although petitions for several more miles of work were on hand.

The newly purchased power lawn mower came in for considerable use during the summer especially on the new Memorial Park which was graded and seeded during the year. The Town undertook an extensive street cleaning program during the past year; several extra men were hired on to handle the street sweeping and washing, and all streets with curb, gutter and sidewalk came in for attention in this regard. Favourable comment on this was heard from all over Town.

Inauguration of a garbage pick-up system for the business district proved successful and this additional service was extensively used by the downtown business firms. Street lighting continued to improve. as new light fixtures were installed and new lights added.

Other highlights of a busy year for the Public Works Department included the construction of a number of catch pits; to reduce the possibility of floods on Town streets, and aimed at decreasing maintenance costs. This was a very necessary undertaking and fairly expensive. The aerial survey was completed during the y.ear and maps and plans turned over to the Town. Snow removal in the downtown business district, for the first time in history, resulted in additional parking space for patrons of downtown business places. This was done in a year of record high snowfall for the Town, a creditable achievement.

A number of new subdivisions in the Town were opened up and developed during the year, making way. for further residential development. Included among these was work in the new Murray Hill subdivision, Crichton Park subdivision, and the Hazelhurst subdivision.

Board of School Commissioners

Rapid expansion and consolidation of school facilities through-out the Town, to keep pace with a fast increasing population of children partly from the influx of Naval families into this area, resulted in the Board of School Commissioners experiencing one of its busiest years in the Town’s history.

It was during this time that the Bicentennial Junior High School, costing approximately half a million dollars, furnished, was completed and put into use, and that plans were finalized for the construction of a new school building on the Notting Park campus as a replacement for old Victoria School, and to handle increased enrollment from this district.

Physical Assets

The Dartmouth school system is now composed of six schools Including the new Bicentennial Junior High, along with Hawthorn, Park, Findlay, Notting Park and the High School.

Latest addition to the school system, the new Junior High, is believed to be at least the equal, and in many respects the finest Junior High School in Nova Scotia. It has many assets such as a spacious auditorium, efficient household science and industrial arts rooms and large sized, well lighted classrooms which will stand Dartmouth in good stead in future years.

At the close of the 1951 Board meetings plans were well along for the construction of a new Primary school at Notting Park, to be connected with the present Notting Park building by a breeze-way.

Considerable progress was made in improving school grounds following a plan laid out several years- ago. Paving of sections at both Hawthorne and Findlay schools at a cost of about $6000 was the highlight of this phase of the work.

The fruits of a year of testing various light systems was seen in 1951 with the complete installation of fluorescent lighting throughout Hawthorne school. As a preliminary to this, a special test room had been installed at the school.

The regular program of painting and decoration throughout the school system was continued, keeping all property in a Good state of repair.

School Operation

In 1951 total cost of operations of the Dartmouth school system was $207,417.45 of which the biggest item, teachers’ salaries amounted to $129,291.

Of the total revenue the School Board received $152,660 from the Town general account while the remainder was made up in grants received from the Municipal School fund and mainly the Provincial government grants.

The total teaching staff amounted to 63 members including Supervisor of Schools Ian K. Forsyth. More than twenty-five per-cent of these teachers are men. Every effort is made by School authorities to select the finest teachers available, from the Province and beyond, to replace teachers who have retired.

In curriculum, especially the academic section, the high standard of teaching was maintained throughout. This is especially evidenced by the fact that when Dartmouth students wrote Provincial matriculation examinations their marks were well above the average for urban districts in the Province.

Thoroughly modern Household Science departments were set up and operated during the year at the new Junior High School with a staff of two trained instructors. This year for the first time. in the past 30 years a fun time Industrial Arts Department was established and operated at the Junior High. These facilities were made available, in so far as the Industrial Arts course is concerned, to Grades 7 to 10 inclusive and in the case of Household Science to Grade 11 as well.

In the field of physical education a program which has attracted interest throughout the Province was. carried out with two competent instructors employed. The field of music also saw two teachers employed, thus- enabling the teachers to inculcate the gift of song to all students.

There were a wide variety of extra-circular activities throughout the year, and one which attracted considerable interest was the Evening Vocational classes under the joint sponsorship of the Department of Vocational Education and the Board of School Commissioners which carried four adult classes in home sewing to a successful conclusion.

The other extra activities, including sports of all types, and inter House competition filled important niches in the school life and assisted the students in making themselves more valuable and efficient in future life.

Cemetery Committee

Continuing a long range program to improve Dartmouth cemeteries, the 1951 Cemetery Committee cleaned out a large section of the old Public cemetery (Park Avenue and Victoria Road).

All dead brush, trees and rubbish were cleaned out of this section and gravestones were straightened. Plans were laid for the seeding of this section in 1952. A section of property cleared of all’ rubbish and shrubbery in 1950 was loamed this year and then seeded, following the policy which will next year see the same action taken on the piece cleared in 1951. This sectional Work is planned to continue until the whole cemetery is completed, probably in 1954.

Some work was also undertaken on Mount Hermon cemetery where a low section was filled in, and a new Roman Catholic section opened above School street, approximately opposite Shamrock Drive. The roadways through the cemetery were leveled and the road edges trimmed back to provide a 16 foot driveway. Some small trees and perennials were planted and this beautification plan will continue.

To continue this work and still keep the cemetery self-sustaining it was found necessary to increase both lot rates grave opening charges in 1951.

Water Committee

Undertaking of one of the greatest water system improvements ever seen in Nova Scotia be-came a realization in Dartmouth in 1951 after a number of years of planning.

After ratepayers of the Town had voted $700,000 for this important project, immediate action was taken to commence the proposed plan laid out by the Engineering Service Company of Halifax and this firm was retained by the Town to supervise the project.

During the year an enormous reservoir, capable of holding more than five million gallons of water was gouged out of the top of a hill 375 feet above sea level. An extensive pipe line system to carry this high gravity pressure supply of water into the higher sections of the Town was installed, including 14,000 feet of 24-inch pipe and 1300 feet of 16-inch pipe, to bring this new supply of water to the Town boundary. This main will connect with the new -water system laid in the Town during the past year and will help to serve these higher level customers. In reality, when this project is completed and in use sometime this coming summer, the Town will be provided with two complete and independent water systems.

Mr. John Kaye of Engineering Service Company has reported that costs for the project have run very close to the original estimated amount of $700,000 but he believed that the total cost of the project would not exceed this estimate.

This includes the purchase of property on which the reservoir is situated, plus considerable watershed area, also the cost of purchasing and installing almost three miles of pipe line, plus the construction and equipping of a modern pumping station at the water source, Lake Lamont.

The main water project, including excavation of the reservoir and laying of the pipe, has been handled on contract by the Atlantic Construction Company, while the pump house is being Constructed by Foundation Maritime Limited. Spokesmen for the Engineering Service Company have told the Town that the new system will probably be filled with water early in the summer at 1952 but actual use of the water by the Town will depend upon the length of time .it takes the mud and sediment to settle from the water in the reservoir, and also upon how many leaks are discovered in the more than three miles of newly laid, and yet untested water mains.

Routine Operations

The routine operation of the Town’s water system continued as usual in 1951 wit h very few major breaks or similar problems arising during the year, according to Town Engineer Walter Lahey.

Total revenues received by the Water Committee during the year from sale of water amounted to $132,482.49 as compared to $128,978.10 during the year 1950.

Throughout Dartmouth itself all water was provided on a metered basis,· as was all water sold to the Municipality of Halifax County, or other outside purchasers. The gross surplus for the Water Department for the year stood at $43,362.82 according to figures provided in the financial statement.

Public Safety Committee

Laying the preliminary groundwork for the Civil Defence organization in Dartmouth, and attempting to educate the public in the importance of this work proved to be one of the most important undertakings of the Public Safety Committee in 1951.

Appointment of Mr. J. J. MacIntosh as Director of Civil De-fence in Dartmouth, and organization of a committee which included responsible and civic-minded men in the Town was successfully undertaken and the nucleus laid for a sound Civil Defence group.

As in 1950, the Public Safety committee again in 1951 directed the operations of both the Town Police and Fire Departments. Combining of both Forces under one central direction proved. highly successful and avoided duplication of plans.

The committee expended much effort and time in 1951 drafting out plans for a metered parking lot in the downtown area on Commercial Street opposite the Dartmouth Ferry. It was decided to recommend that several old buildings on Commercial and Portland Street, owned by the Town, be torn down to make way for a 32 car parking lot. It was proposed that the parking lot be graded and paved to provide a permanent parking area.

Considerable study was given to the traffic problems in the downtown business area and it was recommended to Council that four sets of traffic lights be installed. Consideration of the proposed extension of a new artery, to provide a new route for through traffic connecting with Newcastle Street on one end and Commercial on the other, was also passed on to Council.

A new Police car was purchased, and three men were taken on the Police force, two as replacements, and one new man, to strengthen the force. There was no increase of men in the Fire Department. In both of these Forces a salary scale was established, with a minimum of $1900 and a maximum of $2300 for regular Firemen and Police constables.

A big step was taken when all the Union Protection Company equipment was moved to the Fire Station. Now all equipment, including clothing and truck, is housed in the new Fire station building.

There were no major expenditures in the Fire Department, except for the purchase of a 35 foot aluminum ladder thus completing a full set of ladders on the ladder truck, replacing all the wooden ladders of the Department.

A breakdown of activities and expenditures for each Department follows:

Fire Department

The high standard of efficiency in the ·Dartmouth Fire Department, under the direction of Fire Chief George Patterson, was maintained during 1951 when the Department responded to 189 alarms. Total fire loss during the twelve month period was $28,512. of which $23,372 was covered by insurance, and $5140 was uninsured.

This fine record was accomplished with a force composed at 40 volunteer firemen and ten regular men, including the Fire Chief. Total expenditure for the Fire Department in 1951 amounted to $69,255.75 of which the biggest item, $39,000, covers the cost of providing water for fire fighting and also provides funds for the installation of fire hydrants and connections. Actual cost for operation of .the Department amounted to $30,255.75.

Police Department

Under the leadership of Police Chief John Lawlor, the Dartmouth Police Force had a busy year during 1951 with increased traffic patrols, and checking on traffic violations in the downtown area, taking considerable extra time.

A considerable number of hours was spent in actual traffic direction during the past year, accentuating the early need for installation of traffic lights. The regular Police Force in 1951 was composed of 14 men with a Reserve force of 25.

A total of 539 cases were taken before Police court during the 12 month period, with a total of 496 convictions. Six offenders were sent over to County Court and two went before Supreme Court, with two convictions resulting.

In addition to regular duties a total of 1386 complaints were received and investigated during the year, with a total amount of $3380 in fines being collected, along with $1904.75 in costs.

A new patrol car was placed in use during the year.

Recreation and Community Services

The development and promotion of sport for the youth of the Town, aiming towards the successful development of sound future citizens, was accentuated in endeavours pursued by the Recreation and Community Services committee of the Town in 1951.

The efforts of the committee were also turned towards the development of the D.A.A.A. grounds and ball park, with a view to milk:n g necessary improvements in this valuable property so that residents of the Town could continue to enjoy top flight baseball on a field comparable to any east of Montreal. Negotiations were undertaken with officials of the Arrows Ball Club wit.h a view to negotiating a satisfactory lease for the Park.

Baseball was also highlighted in efforts to construct and grade out a ball field for the smaller youngsters, at the foot of Summer House hill in the Town Park.

Approximately $300 was expended at the Commons field in re-surfacing the field, and also for the erection of the backstop and construction and repairs to bleachers. Considerable work was done on the playing field here with a view to improving its condition for use by pupils from the “Bicentennial Junior High School, which is located nearby.

The public swimming pool at the corner of Commercial Street and Park Avenue, a mecca for youngsters of all ages, was patronized even more than usual in 1951. To encourage use of the facilities provided here by the Town for the benefit of the community the committee had both the swimming and the wading pools completely re-cemented and put in good condition, They were also disinfected to ensure safe, clean bathing for the children. Again this year two supervisors, one male and one female, were in charge while the pools were in operation between Dominion and Labor Day. A large number of children was given instruction in the principles of Water safety with a number receiving Red Cross swimming badges.

One of the most important community services coming under the direction of this committee during 1951 was the Tourist Bureau operated throughout the summer months by the Dartmouth Junior Board of Trade. Efforts were made to landscape the property and the complete program here w ill be completed next year.

Painting of benches and general maintenance and upkeep of grounds in Victoria Park was another committee effort, together with general maintenance in Wentworth Park. These areas are important to the Town with the rapid residential growth of the past few years.

An important service provided partially through the efforts of the committee, the Dartmouth Public Library, has again proven its value to the cultural and educational background of the Town. Attendance more than doubled the population of the Town in 1951 with 29,906 persons visiting the library while circulation reached a new high of 32,778.

Town Planning Board

Completion of the revised building by -laws and their enactment by Town Council was one of the main accomplishments of the Town Planning Board in 1951. They are now available in convenient book· let form to the general public for a fee of $1. They provide a more up-to-date building code for what has proven to be tremendous development in the building field in Dartmouth during the past few years.

Construction of single dwellings remained at a high peak in Dartmouth during 1951 although the total building figures in that period dropped slightly over the previous year. Total value of building permits issued in the year was $949,963, almost one million dollars.

Of this amount two thirds, or $618,832, accounted. for single dwellings for which a total of 73 building permits was granted. During the year also permits were issued for 38 apartments, com-posing a total value of $51,300. Continuing their trend towards improving the appearance of the Town’s business district, various merchants applied for applications to remodel store fronts with a total estimated! value of $15,500.

Biggest individual building permit granted during the year was to Dominion Stores Limited for a master market on Canal Street at a total estimated cost of $80,000. Other big items include the $30,000 expansion of the Dartmouth Medical Centre; construction of the Woolworth store valued at $50,000; and a number of minor items including a $20,000 service station construction, and consider-able work in alterations and additions.

Some consideration was given to the laying of a groundwork for the preparation of Zoning by-laws to be used in conjunction with the new building by-laws, and it was decided to pass this item on for action to the incoming Planning Board.

Dartmouth Rink Commission

A new era in the sports development of Dartmouth was herald-ed in 1951 with the official opening and operation of the Dartmouth Memorial Rink.

Authorized by vote of the ratepayers in 1950, the $175,000 structure, located virtually on the same site as the old Mar k-Cross arena, fills a long-felt need in the Town. Built of permanent type materials, including brick tile, and especially designed structural steel the new building came in for a terrific amount of use during the Spring of 1951, just after it opened, and during the Fall and Winter season to follow.

Actual opening date of the beautiful new rink was slated for early in January but due to delays experienced in the installation of the freezing equipment this was held back until February when at a special ceremony Han. Geoffrey Stevens, M.L.A. officially tossed in the first puck to open operations.

Included among the varied activities to take place at the ice palace in 1951 were the operation of a large number of hockey leagues, ranging all the way from midgets and bantams up to the participation by the Chebuctos in the Valley Hockey League. Other promotions held at the rink included the Dartmouth Kiwanis Club’s Ice Follies show which promises to grow bigger each year, plus numerous public skating sessions, and rental of ice to private parties and firms. During the year every effort was made to insure provision of skating session and hockey time for the younger children and this is expected to increase annually through the efforts of such organizations as the Dartmouth Minor Hockey Association headed by Colenso Bowles.

Financially, during its first year of operation the Rink showed an operating profit of $142.48. This is before payment has been not in full operation during that period, this profit might not have operated only for a portion of a year, and the leagues, and such attractions which would bring money into the Rink coffers were not in full operation during that period this profit might not have. been as large as hoped for but this situation is expected to improve following a complete year’s operation. Rink Commission members were confident of a successful operation, especially if arrangements can be completed for a permanent type flooring to be laid over the brine pipes so that the Rink. building can be used for special money making attractions during the summer months. Arrangements are now underway in this regard.

The Reassessment Survey

While it may not have been the major undertaking of the year. 1951’s general reassessment survey in Dartmouth will have a far reaching influence on the Town’s financial structure for years to come, and will serve one of its main purposes in seeing that each citizen pays a just and equitable portion of taxation.

In the words of the Assessment committee composed of Chairman James L. Harrison and members, Mayor Claude H. Morris and Deputy Mayor D. T. Marsh, this is what was done:

“The Assessment committee in 1951 was composed of the same personnel who in 1950 had studied assessment procedures in Dartmouth and had recommended a complete overhaul to ensure a modern and equitable system.

The committee reported in part- “In order that each citizen pay a just and equitable portion of taxation, complete revaluation should be carried out in Dartmouth – – – a person familiar with modern assessment systems and procedures should be engaged to completely overhaul our assessment department – – -this supervisor should prepare the various tax maps, the necessary records and forms, the proper scales and tables of land and building values, and from the co-ordination of these and actual physical measurements, arrive at the goal of a scientific appraisal of all properties in Dartmouth.”

During the past year a revaluation and reclassification of all property was undertaken with a modern system of assessing and recording instituted.

Mr. M. E. Mullan was engaged at a salary of $4500 to organize, supervise and conduct the reassessment. Mr. Mullan has had experience in the construction field and in assessment work in Ontario and had recently been engaged in reassessment work in Halifax County.

In commencing the reassessing in Dartmouth, the Town was divided into sixteen pricing zones for the purpose of evaluating land in different sections of the Town. In the downtown area a lot with a 40-foot frontage was taken as the standard; in residential areas a lot 50 by 100 was decided upon as a standard. A system of graduated plus and minus factors was set up to provide for wider, deeper, narrower and shorter lots, and formulae were set up to calculate values for unevenly shaped or extraordinarily situated lots. Minus factors were also applied to land assessments to allow for lack of pavement, sidewalks, water or sewer, and other physical conditions.

Valuations on buildings were calculated from reproduction costs obtained by co-coordinating physical measurements with costs of material and labor and allowing for depreciation and condition factors. Other factors influencing the building value that were taken into account were: type of heating plant and plumbing; particulars of interior and exterior construction and finish, plus unfavorable exposure influence, such as proximity to railway and fire stations, cemeteries, old buildings and undue noises.

“A field sheet was designed with sections for recording all information dealing with the land and building values and showing each step in arriving at each individual assessed value.

“An assessment manual for the use of our Assessment Department was drawn up with all formulae and factors included as well as a schedule of rates for personal property.

“During 1951 the sum of $13,259.57 was expended on the re-assessment work.

“In 1952 the various Tax Maps will be completed and toe remaining details of the survey cleaned up. A study will also be made of alternate methods of assessing personal property and applying poll taxes.

“Your assessment committee is confident that completion of the reassessment work will result in equitable and just distribution of the tax’ burden among the ratepayers.”

The Dartmouth Ferry

Entrance to Dartmouth as seen from the ferry.

With total assets less accumulated depreciation standing at $983,377, almost one million dollars, the Dartmouth Ferry Commission could look over the past year as one of consolidation, in which a policy aimed at keeping the Town-owned industry on as sound a financial footing as possible, had been successfully pursued.

The Dartmouth Ferry Commission is keeping a close watch on its immediate future plans, and the effect on its vehicular and possibly pedestrian traffic when the Halifax-Dartmouth Bridge is completed. At the annual meeting it was decided to increase the rate of depreciation on a number of items, so as to leave the Ferry as free of debt as possible in case a changeover should become necessary.

The annual financial statement of the Ferry at the conclusion of 1951 showed an operating profit on the year of $9284.92 which was turned over to the Town of Dartmouth according to statute. It also revealed that total financial revenues from ferriages during the same period amounted to $531,440.81, the second highest recorded in the history of the Town.

Gross revenue for the year totaled $536,683.02 a total second only to 1950’s revenue. The highest number of pedestrians carried on Dartmouth ferries since the peak year of 1944 used the service in 1951, a total of 4,585,218. The second highest number of motor vehicles also used the facilities in 1951 with 551,423 being carried across the Harbor. Last high was in 1950 when 561,076 vehicles were transported.

The importance of the Dartmouth Ferry operation to the economic stability of the Town is accentuated by the fact than in 1951 almost quarter of a million dollars was paid out of revenue for salaries and wages of employees. Actual total was $227,206.18 In addition to this Dartmouth merchants and business men benefited directly to a consider able extent. by the approximately $70,000 expended for operational purposes with Dartmouth business firms.

Another direct contribution made to the operation of the Town by the Ferry was the payment of $30,531.63 covering taxes and water rates in 1951.

The Commission’s fixed assets were increased during the period. by $5824.54 covering improvements to the main dock in Halifax. with reductions of $46,898.56 due to the sale of the steamer S.S. Chebucto to Upper Canadian interests for $5000 leaving a balance on fixed assets as of December 31, 1951 of $1,141,470.46.

The Ferry’s debenture debt at the end of 1951 totaled $246,500. which amount is being retired by annual payments from revenue.

As the result of unusually heavy repairs on the ferry steamer S.S. Halifax a portion of the cost of repairs, $28,345 was charged against the unforeseen contingencies reserve fund leaving a balance at credit of $134,854.03. The financial report of the auditors shows an underappreciated balance on boats and property of $362;220.01 with provision made in 1952 for depreciation of an amount totaling $44,834.

Annual Report 1952

Citizens of Dartmouth,

Ladies and Gentlemen: I have the honor to submit my report and comments on the civic events of 1952.

Dartmouth continued to march forward during 1952 but it is difficult to single out any particular event as the main highlight of the year.

We saw the completion and taking over of the new additions to the water system, i. e., new pump house, reservoir and new water main which were finished within the original estimate of $700,000. The benefits in an improved water system were immediately evident and there was an early reduction in insurance rates of 17% which is worth many dollars to Dartmouth citizens.


Taxable Assessments rose to $20,965,395, as a result of the reassessment survey, making possible a reduction in the Tax rate from $4.40 to $2.58. It is evident that a rate of $5.00 would have been necessary under the old system of assessment. The benefits will be increasingly evident as new properties are added under the new system. Plans were made to relieve householders of the household personal property assessment effective in 1954.

It is worthy of note that in the total budget of $894,743, $300,712 was applied to either capital expenditure from revenue or repayment of capital debt. Our capital debt is high due to large expenditures in the post war years but provision has been made for a very rapid retirement of same and the bulk of it will be retired during the next ten years. It is also worthy of note that revenue from sources other than real property have shown a large increase and $305,900 were received from these sources.

The street program was the best in many years, patching was started early, the street sweeping program was continued, a substantial amount of seal coating was done and in addition a considerable amount of permanent paving was done during the year.

Traffic lights were installed in Dartmouth for the first time in history and have done much to help out with our traffic problems.

Improvements in the Dartmouth Park came in for considerable favorable comment and it is hoped to continue further with this program.

The sale of prefabricated houses was completed during the year resulting in a net profit to the Town of $232,685 which is represented by a 2/5 interest held by the Town in the mortgage on the various properties. These net proceeds will accrue to the Town annually for fourteen years at the rate of approximately $19,000.00 per year.

Construction of the Harbour Bridge is well under way and as came to a close the concrete work on the Dartmouth side was approximately completed and we may look forward to using the Bridge in late 1954.

We were honored during the year by a visit from His Excellency Governor General Vincent Massey, who signed the register book at the Town Hall and was presented with a scroll on behalf of the Town. We were also honored by visits from the Minister of National Defence, the Chairman of the National Research Council and other dignitaries on the occasion of the opening of the Naval Research establishment in October.

The facilities of the Dartmouth Rink continue to be very widely used, the summer operation being of particular value. The Rink Commission were able to show a small surplus on operating account before providing for debenture debt charges.

Revenue at the Dartmouth Ferry was the highest in its history and the reserve account which has been built up in recent years, plus the current cash assets. now exceeds the total debenture debt charges. New pedestrian commutation tickets introduced during the year were received with favor by the traveling public.

The Town took over all rights held by the Starr Manufacturing Company in Sullivan’s Pond and the locks at Lake Banook for the sum of $1.00. This made it possible for the Town to make certain repairs necessary and to effect some improvements in the area.

I should like to express my thanks to the members of Council and the various Committees and Commissions and also to Town employees and citizens generally for the co-operation afforded me during the year.

I have the honour to be, Yours faithfully,

C.H. Morris, Mayor.

Dartmouth’s Financial Review: Finance Committee

First effects of the general reassessment survey which was undertaken in Dartmouth in 1951, and which was anticipated to have a far reaching influence on the Town’s financial structure in future years was felt in 1952 when a tax rate of $2.58 was struck, the lowest rate to be set by the Town since 1918 when it was $2.00.

In 1951 the tax rate was $4.40, as compared with $2.58 per $100. of assessment in 1952. Based on 1951 assessment figures and maintaining the same expenditures and revenues the tax rate this year would have been $5.76. However, with a more equitable distribution of the tax burden, and with a number of new additions to the tax rolls, the ratepayer in 1952 in general paid less in actual taxes to the Town than in 1951, a situation which is very creditable after taking due consideration of the steadily increasing cost of living index.

The total revenues for the year 1952 amounted to $860,859.65, the highest in the history of Dartmouth. Total revenues for the year prior, 1951, amounted to $670,558.

In addition to other high expenses during the past twelve months, the Town Council in 1952 provided an amount of $17,723. to be paid over to the Halifax County Vocational School in Halifax. This amount was in excess of the previous year’s payment by more than $4,000.

One of the big changes resulting from the reassessment survey which went into effect this year, was the total assessment figure for the Town. In 1951 the Town’s total assessment was $12,000,175. while in 1952 it had increased by more than one hundred percent to $28,521,345. Of this amount $20,965,395 was subject to taxation.

Changes at Town Hall

The rapid growth of the Harbour Town, steadily increasing population, and influx of additional business at Town Hall resulted in some necessary changes being made during the year at Town Clerk Clifford A. Moir’s office in order to facilitate this boom.

The rapid growth is strongly accentuating the need within the immediate future for a new Town Hall building to replace the inadequate and obsolete facilities of the old structure now in use. Even such changes as were made in 1952, the tearing out of a section of the wall and making an arched counter in the centre of the hallway to handle bill payments and other transient business is only a temporary solution to a problem which must soon be faced.

Expenditures for 1952 out of current revenue were the highest ever undertaken by the Town. Increased operational costs were prime factors accounting for the budget of $849,743. Heaviest expenditures were accounted for by education where $192,510 was accounted for with the School Board taking approximately $163,000. General government amounted to $48,581, while protection costs, including fire, police and civil defence cost $137,360.

Revenues in the main came from general taxation with $539,851 out of the budgeted $849,743 being raised in this manner. Other revenue included $15,000 from poll tax payments, $12,000 from licenses and permits, and $28,989 from service charges.

Revenue for the year 1952 in the Water Department from Water rates amounted to $145,223.80 with a total of 3,238 metered properties now being serviced in the Town. The gross surplus from the operation of water utility was $54,279.87, prior to the payment of debenture debt charges of $50,078.50 leaving a net surplus of $4,279.87.

During the year the construction of a $700,000 improvement to the Town’s water system was completed at a total cost of $699,724.75, or only about $273 under the estimated amount of money needed for the big project. The new pumping station is now in full time operation and open to inspection by Town ratepayers at any time.

Appointment of a full time Building Inspector, operating out of the Town Clerk’s office was one of the big changes made in the personnel at Town Hall in 1952. This was the appointment of Welsford Symonds to the Building Inspector’s post, on the recommendation of the Town Planning Board. His appointment provides for a central checking point for all building applications and permits and a close check is now being kept on all construction in the Town.

Outstanding taxes to the end of December 1952, amounted to $90,752.90, out of $630,473.59, Town Clerk C. A. Moir said. This included all outstanding taxes over the past three year period, in addition to the 1952 tax assessment. In the tax arrears over the past three years, approximately 12 percent has not been collected to date. The Town Clerk’s office urged payment of any taxes as soon as possible by the ratepayer, so as to provide a better civic operation and in the longrun save the ratepayer money.

Debentures sold during the year 1952 by the Town, included an issue of $27,000 for sewer extensions bearing 4% percent interest, which was sold at par to the Dartmouth Ferry Commission. Another issue of debentures for water purposes, amounting to $19,000 and bearing 4 and 4% percent interest brought a yield of 99.261 when placed on the market. Another issue of $325,000 covering a phase of the water project was also sold along with $350,000 more of debentures for school purposes (Bi-Centennial Junior High School), bearing 4% percent interest which brought the price of 100.323 on the open market at a time when the general bond market was very low. The Town recorded the best prices of any municipality in the Province, a credit to its sound financial position.

During 1952 the Town of Dartmouth made capital expenditures from revenue totalling $81,121.79, covering such items as a new police patrol, traffic lights which were inserted at three intersections, a Fire Department Utility truck, and payment of $5,000. to the Junior High School capital fund. This last payment saved the issuing of an additional $5,000 in debentures. The total cost of the Junior High School was $450,000 of which the Town issued debentures covering $350,000. The remaining $100,000 was made up of the cash payment of $5,000 by the Town and the $95,000 grant by the Provincial government.

Capital payments from revenue amounting to $63,000 for paving were also made, and an additional grant of $2,000. was paid over to the Park Commission.

During the year the Town retired serial debentures totalling $124,000. Interest on the debenture debt and payments on sinking fund requirements faced by the Town in 1952 amounted to $95,590.32, with Temporary debt charges amounting to an additional $8,576.62 Discounts on the current years taxes amounted to a further $7,627.67.

During the year 1952, the following debentures were paid off from the sinking fund: Schools, $40,000.: Sidewalks, $15,000: Permanent streets, $21,000.: Water, $25,000: Permanent streets, $19,000, making a total of $120,000.

This represented retirement of approximately a Quarter of a million dollars of Town indebtedness in 1952. By the year 1956 all of the Town of Dartmouth‘s current sinking fund will be retired, and at present the Town has no debentures outstanding beyond the year 1982.

The Total debenture debts of the Town, including general, schools, water, and ferry, amounts to $2,665,600 at the end of 1952, of which an amount of $143,122.34 is set up in sinking fund reserves. In the Town general account the credit bank balance to the end of 1952 amounted to $36,705.61.

The Dartmouth Memorial Rink

Although sufficient revenue has not been forthcoming to date from the operation of the Dartmouth Memorial Rink to provide for the debenture debt charges, the Rink Commission, and the Commission Chairman, Mayor Claude H. Morris have hopes that with continued careful management in future years the operating surplus of the rink may be made to equal the interest payments.

An operating surplus of $2,749.41, before providing for debenture debt requirements, has been achieved by the Rink Commission’s operation of the Rink during 1952.

In his annual report on the Rink operation, Mayor Morris outlines the activities undertaken at the Rink during the year, pointing out that a partial wooden floor constructed to place over the brine pipes, in order to permit a summer operation was very profitable, showing a revenue for the summer operation of $5,700.45, thus paying the $2,000 cost for the wooden floor in one year and still showing a profit. It also shows promise for future years as attractions at the Rink during the Summer months build up into a full time operation.

Last winters program at the Dartmouth Memorial Rink was featured by many skating sessions, and considerable hockey all of a local nature. Very wide use has been made of the facilities by the youth of Dartmouth. Skating sessions have been made available three afternoons per week at a nominal charge of fifteen cents, and also on Saturday mornings for a two hour period.

In addition to this, the Minor Hockey Association is using a total of nine hours per week for practice sessions for younger boys, and also for organized minor hockey league games.

Much credit must also be given to the Bluenose Skating Club which holds a two hour skating session every Saturday afternoon, and has done a great deal towards instructing the younger skaters.

The evening hours have been devoted in the main to adult skating sessions, and for the Suburban and Halifax-Dartmouth Senior Hockey leagues. During the past year also the Halifax-Dartmouth St. Mary’s Juniors played out of the rink and provided some top notch hockey for local fans. They played the famous Montreal Junior Canadiens here in one match.

In his annual report on the finances of the Rink, Mayor Morris, the Chairman of the Commission, points out that in addition to the operating surplus of $2,749.41, the Commission has paid to the Town in 1952 taxes and water rates. a total of $5,505.28.

After providing for taxes, and for debenture debt charges to the Town of Dartmouth over the year, the Rink is faced with a deficit amounting to $15,95?.59. An increased summer operation and steadily increasing winter revenue is hoped to cut this amount down as the operation of the Rink continues.

Public Works Department

Much credit from ratepayers and motorists in the Town of Dartmouth was handed out during the year 1952 to the Town Works Department and the Public Works Committee for the unusually fine job done in repairing and maintaining the Town’s streets after they suffered considerable damage as the result of an unusually bad winter.

The money provided for the Public Works Department general street maintenance and repair budget was unchanged from 1951 at $75,000.

Considerable additional work was handled during the period however out of the amount totalling $46,476 provided by Council for permanent paving under capital expenditures from revenue. It is unusual when a Town can go ahead with such capital expenditures out of the current revenues.

The paving work done last year (1951), on the Lake Road was to have been covered 50 percent by the Provincial government, but since this payment was not forthcoming by the end of the financial year, an amount of $5,000 had to be provided, contributing partially to the Town’s deficit of $25,000 on the 1951 operation of the Town in general.

Under Town Engineer Walter Lahey’s direction the street repairing and maintenance program carried on speedily from the first of the season.

First step was a general checkover of all Town streets, with all holes or breaks in pavement being filled in or covered with hot patch mixtures so as- to provide a permanent type repair to the damage.

Primer coats and penetration asphalt were provided for a large number of streets, following up the Work’s Department program of putting some new sections in good repair each year. thus keeping up partially at least with the current demands for new streets in the many rapidly opening sub-divisions.

The winter program was quite light excepting for the usual sandings and saltings of streets and hills. Very little sand is in use now with virtually all salt being used to cut down the glassy skim ice surfaces which form over the streets. A relatively mild winter kept the operational costs down fairly low with little heavy plowing or trucking of snow having to be provided for.

One of the biggest jobs of the year, which was provided for under the capital expenditure from revenue was the widening and paving of the entire length of Windmill Road from the Tufts Cove highway intersection at Albro Lake Road down through to Jamieson street. Cost of this project is being borne jointly by the Provincial government and the Town since the use of Windmill Road as part of Route number 7, a trunk highway extending down the Eastern shore from Bedford has now become official.

The work on Windmill Road in addition to the paving program also involved considerable curb and gutter work along sections of this route, now making it the Town’s most attractive entrance. The widening and paving program is eventually planned to carry on down over the incline past Jamieson street and across the Jamieson street storm sewer, which has been covered over with a large amount of fill left over from various Town projects. This work, however, is being delayed pending the removal of Teasdale’s grocery store from the straightened road site.

The year 1952 saw a number of new subdivisions opening up, including further additions to the Crichton Park subdivision, and the huge new Wyndholme subdivision on Silver’s Hill. New streets are being rough graded in these subdivisions and gradually being taken over by the Town, thus continuing to increase the program each year to be followed by the Works Department.

The Dartmouth Ferry Service

Keeping a cautious eye on its financial structure. the Dartmouth Ferry Commission. headed by Mayor Claude H. Morris, achieved a highly Successful year in 1952 for the Dartmouth Ferry service, despite some unusually high maintenance and repair costs.

This Town owned service, which is operated through a Commission, last year paid a net profit to the Town of Dartmouth of $8,710.21, in addition to paying out other large sums of money to the Town coffers through tax assessment, and in water rate charges.

The Ferry service provides employment for a large number of Harbour Town residents, and in addition continues to provide a low cost transportation service between Halifax and Dartmouth, the purpose of which it was originally set up by ratepayers of this Town.

Ferriage revenue reached an all time high in 1952 of $587,000. but expenses were also high due to the unexpected repair and maintenance bills covering ferries, and also due to increased salaries. The operating profit shown over the 12 months period of 1952 was $57,000. out of which the Commission replaced in the reserve fund for unforseen contingencies an amount of $28,000. which was withdrawn in 1951 to meet unforseen repairs. Also an additional $20,000 was placed in this fund leaving a net profit to the Town of nearly $9,000 as previously mentioned.

The reserve now stands at $186,800. in investments and cash, and the current account stands at $62,000., making a total in cash and investments of $249,000.

The debenture debt of the Dartmouth Ferry service now stands at $231,000., which places the Ferry in a very strong liquid condition. This is a situation for which the Ferry Commission has been striving to achieve before the completion of the Harbour Bridge. which is scheduled for August 1954. As a result this gives the Ferry Commission an additional year and one-half to further strengthen the Ferry’s financial position.

During the year 1952, a new agreement was negotiated with the unlicensed personnel of the Ferry service, calling for increases on a graduated scale ranging from $10.00 to $33.00 per month. These benefits were also extended to the licensed personnel of the Ferry.

Possibly one of the most important changes to be noted by the Ferry during 1952 took place on October 1st when a change was made in the pedestrian monthly books. This change resulted in the replacing of three books then in use with one monthly book and introducing a new book of transferable tickets good at any time. This action. which greatly simplified the handling of pedestrian tickets, appeared to be very well received by the general public, and both classes of tickets are being widely used.

In 1952 the Dartmouth Ferry service observed its 200th anniversary, and an interesting paper on this subject was read before the Nova Scotia Historical Society by Mr. John P. Martin, who has done much to preserve the history of Dartmouth and this vicinity.

A move, which was financially sound for both the Ferry and the Town of Dartmouth, which was undertaken in 1952 was the purchase during the year by the Commission of Town of Dartmouth debentures, including $30,000 in March, and a complete issue of $46,000 in December. This move keeps the Town debt in Town hands and still provides the Ferry with a good rate of interest on its investment, to the benefit of the ratepayers of the Town. Since the Town owns the Ferry, it means essentially that the Town is only paying itself interest rather than outsiders.

During the year a general appraisal was made on all ferry property, including ferries. and it was all found in good repair. An increase on the real estate insurance carried, from $25,000 to $40,000 to keep the value based on increased real estate values, was authorized.

Possibly one of the highlights of the Ferry was that one of the most distinguished passengers ever carried by this service, His Excellency Governor General Vincent Massey was taken to and from Halifax during the official visit to Dartmouth of the Governor General, on the Ferry steamer Scotian.

The Water Department

Many years from now ancestors of present Dartmouth ratepayers will point with pride to the foresight of their forefathers in providing the Town of Dartmouth with one of the most up to date and well planned water systems in the Maritime Provinces.

Completion of the $700,000 expansion of the Harbour Town’s water system to service increased Town needs and to fill requests for the purchase of water by both the Provincial and Federal governments was announced in the latter part of 1952. after almost one and one-half years of extensive construction work.

The new water system will eventually pay for itself over a period of years, and revenue from this source in the future will place the Town in a very favourable financial situation in this regard.

The water system project was guided very capably by the Engineering Services Company, which handled all phases in the construction of the system. This included the laying of 16 inch mains through the Town, also the construction of a five million gallon capacity reservoir. one of the most impressive engineering feats ever seen in this area. It also included the laying of a 24 inch water main from the reservoir to a point in the Town near Rodney Road a total of three and one-half miles of pipe. The construction and equipping of a modern new pumping station at Westphal was the final step in the three quarters of a million dollar development, designed to completely replace old. Town water mains which have become obsolete.

Considerable public criticism has been made concerning the time of completion and breaks in the pipe during work on this project. The facts are that that except for some delay in connection with the pump house, due largely to difficulties in delivery of equipment the job was finished in good time. It was in the main timed to meet the requirements of Federal and Provincial developments, and every demand for service has been met with very little interruption to Town services.

The design of the new system called for concrete lined pipes to be used so that the building up of material within the pipes with consequent loss of capacity, would be avoided, and also to do away with the necessity of scraping mains in years to come, thus lowering maintenance costs. This pipe was not readily available in Canada at the time, although prices were obtained from both Canadian and English manufacturers. The actual price for the English pipe landed on the job was $201,300, and an approximate price from the Canadian manufacturers was $213,000 f.o.b. cars. It was estimated that it would cost an additional $12,000 to deliver the pipe from the cars to the job. On this basis the special water committee decided to order the English pipe which represented an 11 percent saving.

After laying of 1,025 lengths of pipe, 26 sections had to be replaced during the test periods at a cost of pipe and labour of $22,149. This represents 2.5 percent of the pipe laid, and is not considered excessive in work of this nature. Some pipe was damaged in shipment from England, but this was checked closely and any damaged pipe discovered was not paid for. After a final tabulation of the cost of this project at the office of the Town Clerk, it was announced that the final expenditure out of the estimated $700,000 for the project was $699,724.75. Its completion brings to a culmination the efforts of the Town Council to provide the proposed additions and improvements in the water system as recommended in an inspection and survey of the Town’s water system made by the Engineering Service Company in 1950. Its results include an improved high pressure water service to Town and area water customers, it has already resulted in a sizeable drop in the Town’s fire insurance rates, and in addition provides this area with two separate water mains bringing water into the Town, in case of any type of disaster striking the area. It also provides the Federal government and Provincial government projects in this district with needed water, which eventually will give the Town valuable water customers and providing a sound investment for the Town in future years.

General Operations

In addition to completion of the new water system, the routine operation of the Water Department during 1952 showed a successful year with the revenue for the year being the highest ever recorded in the Town’s history.

Revenue from water sales during 1952 amounted to $145,223.80 as compared with $132,438.49 the previous year and $128.978.10 in 1950.

This increase was resultant mainly from consumption in the Commercial areas with $26,000 being realized from this source in 1951 as compared to $37,000 in 1952, an $11,000 increase.

There was an increase during the year 1952 in the number of metered establishments being provided with water in the Town. The total number of meters was raised to 3,238 during the year as compared to 3,062 the previous year.

The Water Department showed a gross surplus of $54,279.87 on the sale of water during the year prior to the payment of debenture debt charges amounting to $50,078.50, leaving a net surplus of $4,279.87.

Pre-Fab Housing Report

Proving false the old adage that you can’t have your cake and eat it too, Dartmouth Town Council culminated the purchase and resale in 1952 of 214 prefab houses in Notting Park in a double pronged effort which in addition to providing permanent homes for more than 200 Dartmouth residents, also will net the Town government a profit of over $200,000.

Chairman of a special committee on Pre-Fab housing set up by Town Council, was Mayor Claude H. Morris who led the negotiations between the Town of Dartmouth and the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation which led to the eventual purchase of the wartime housing units.

After approval of Harbour Town ratepayers had been received, Town Council borrowed by means of temporary borrowing from the Royal Bank of Canada the sum of $214,000 with which they purchased at a cost of $1,000 each, 214 prefab houses from the Central Mortgage and Housing corporation.

An agreement was entered into between the Town of Dartmouth on one hand and the Eastern Canada Savings and Loan Company and the Nova Scotia Savings, Loan and Building Society on the other hand, and under the terms of this agreement a schedule of prices for the houses was setup. It was arranged that following the down payment the balance of the purchase price was to be realized from a mortgage under the terms of which the company paid over to the Town three-fifths of the mortgage and the Town retained a two-fifths interest in same.

Tenders were called and contracts let for the permanentizing of the houses, which involved the placing of concrete foundations under the buildings, replacing of any timbers necessary, the extension of chimneys previously hung, to a sound footing, exterior painting of the woodwork and other minor repairs necessary. Of the 214 houses sold, three were paid for outright, the remainder being carried on the mortgage arrangements.

The total sale price of the houses was $672,671.12 The cost to the Town was the purchase price of $214,000, plus the cost of permanentizing $250,199.75, making a total of $464,199.75. The net Profit to the Town of Dartmouth will amount to $208,471.37.

The Pre Fab Housing committee reported that the cost of the permanentizing was fully paid in 1952. The temporary borrowing of $214,000 was also fully-retired, and there is now a small credit to the Town which will be increased each month during the term of the mortgages, most of which do not mature until 1966.

It has been estimated by the Pre Fab Housing committee that the Town may expect to receive annually from this source about $20,000. This totals more than the $208,471.37 profit mentioned earlier, and is explained by the fact that the money is bearing interest at six percent out of which is paid administrative costs of one and one-half percent, leaving the net interest to the Town of four and one-half percent.

Legislation provides that the proceeds are to be paid into a special fund which can only be dispersed by Council with the consent of the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

The Dartmouth Park

Located in the heart of Dartmouth, the Town Park showed tremendous advancement during the twelve months of 1952 under the guidance of Park Commission Chairman F. D. Ross.

Work was commenced early in the year under the funds provided in the regular Town budget and by mid—surnmer the lower section of the Park, facing on the corners of Park Avenue and Synott’s Hill was taking on the appearance of a beautiful rock garden.

his work was started in 1951, but only the groundwork could be started at this time due to a shortage of necessary funds. In 1952, beautiful paths and walks were cut through, built into the sides of the craggy bluff overlooking the swimming pool, and the whole setup “was attractively set out with shrubs, rock garden flowers and many forms of wildlife.

Some Harbour Town citizens joined in the program to beautify this most obvious section of the park and donated some plants for use here. More of these are needed when ever someone has them available according to Park officials.

As much as possible the natural lay of the land was utilized in the construction of the rock garden setup. Its naturally rough appearance blended in perfectly with the Park Commission’s scheme.

As the year progressed the Town Council voted a further $2,000 to the Park Commission and another flurry of activity was commenced by the Park Commission which has long been curtailed in its work by a lack of necessary funds.

Biggest job commenced in the Park in 1952 was along the extension of Thistle street. south of the Bicentennial Junior High school. Here workmen were engaged in rooting out hundreds of old shrubs and undergrowth. long an eye-sore to this area. Special equipment was rented to facilitate this work and much was achieved on both sides of this new street in clearing up the Park.

Plans were also laid for further clearing out and levelling of this Park area and planting of grass and flowers in the coming Spring.

The general maintenance work of other paths and walks at the Park was continued, so as to keep the whole area as generally presentable as possible, while special efforts were made to spruce up the districts most visible to newcomers and tourists visiting the Town.

No definite action was taken at Birch Cove because sufficient funds to commence a full scale program here were not available However, Park Commission authorities opened negotiations with the Dartmouth Junior Board of Trade with a view to that civic minded organization commencing the clearing out of matted growth and other debris as soon as weather permits in the Spring.

Public Health And Welfare

The costs of hospital and medical care continued on the up-trend in 1952, and the Welfare Department in Dartmouth reflected this rise in their operations over the 12 month period.

The total costs of hospital and medical debts incurred by Dartmouth residents in 1952 amounted to $36,514.14, in hospitals throughout the Halifax area, and of this amount only $5,625.95 was recovered during the period.

Because of this fact the total net expenses of the Welfare Department in 1952 were $30,888.22, being an over expenditure of $3,038.22, over the amount estimated at the first of the year.

Under Provincial law in Nova Scotia, person admitted to the hospital, from the Town of Dartmouth becomes the responsibility of that Town. Any debts incurred by these persons are charged to the Town and it is the responsibility of the Town where persons do not have the necessary funds, to receive depositions from the individuals and to arrange collection.

In recent years the Town has become responsible for a number of persons whose settlement may be outside the Province of Nova Scotia and the Town is at present endeavouring to take some action to collect these outstanding accounts.

Grants made by the Town to charity organizations through 1952 did not change from the previous year with $3,950, being distributed as follows: Victorian Order of Nurses, $3,000, Halifax Visiting Dispensary, $200.00, Canadian National Institute of the Blind, $200.00, Children’s Hospital, $250.00, and Salvation Army, $300.00.

Maintenance of inmates in charitable institutions during the year cost the Town of Dartmouth $4,733.51. during 1952 a considerable drop from the amount of $6,266, spent for this purpose in 1951. This expenditure was in the main made at the Halifax County Home.

Charity expenses, food, fuel and burial charges for indigents cost the Town of Dartmouth $1,426.93 in 1952.

Public Health

Under the direction of the Town’s Medical Health Officer Dr. L. A. Rosere, who was newly appointed to succeed the late Dr. H. A. Payzant in 1952, the Town’s medical health was closely watched. The Dartmouth branch of the Victorian Order of Nurses also played an important role in this watchdog post.

Dr. Rosere as the Medical Health officer, directed regular checks of Town Lakes, water supply, and every other source where possible contagion could develop to harm Dartmouth resident’s health.

Both the Medical Health Officer and members of the V.O.N. made regular calls at all the Dartmouth schools, examined the hundreds of students in the public schools, and conducted dozens of well baby clinics, school nursing, immunization clinics and general health supervision.

An important part of the Victorian Order of Nurses work during the year was the Child Health clinics with 1,045 babies and pre-school children attending a total of 92 of these clinics.

The school program consists of rapid classroom inspections done three times during the year, physical examinations on all students in Grades one, three. and five, which are done by the nurses, medical examinations by Dr. Rosere on all new admissions and follow up visits to the home whenever necessary.

A total of 1,643 children were given a physical examination by the Nurses during 1952 and 161 were given a medical examination by Dr. Rosere.

During the year five dental clinics were held treating a total of 56 children. Dentists of the Town gave their time voluntarily to make these clinics a success.

With the co-operation of the Medical Health Officer and the V.O.N. a series of 23 Immunization clinics for Infants, Preschool and school children were held throughout 1952 with 300 children being vaccinated against smallpox. 924 children received booster doses of toxoid, and 1,069 were immunized against diphtheria, whooping cough and tetanus.

A total of 482 children were given the Tuberculin Patch test and of these ten were found to have positive reactions. These ten children and all the students at the Junior High School were X-rayed by the Mobile chest X-ray unit and not one active case of Tuberculosis was found.

There were some changes made on the V.O.N. staff during the year with Miss M. Adams resigning in August and Miss MacKenzie in September. These two were replaced by Miss Daphne Harriett and Miss Louise Gillis, both of whom took over duty in September. Miss Marion MacKaracher is the Nurse in charge of the Dartmouth office of the V.O.N.

Harbour Bridge Progress Report

Construction work on the Dartmouth approaches to the Halifax-Dartmouth Harbour Bridge, got well underway in 1952 and by the end of the year the stretch of land running down to the Harbour front from Windmill Road to Shore Road was liberally sprinkled with huge concrete arches which will eventually bear the road bed for the Harbour span.

Since Dartmouth ratepayers will eventually be hearing a portion of the financial responsibility for the construction of the Harbour Bridge, it is only fitting that an outline of the progress on the project should be carried in this annual report of the Town.

In addition to completion of the concrete arches, Bridge workmen finished the huge concrete abuttment at the upper end of Lyle Street, just off Wyse Road. This huge “V” shaped concrete bowl was filled in with earth, and topped with gravel and will eventually provide the Harbour Town exit for the Bridge with six to eight exit routes radiating out from the Bridge mouth.

Down closer to the waterfront, a tiny footbridge eased its way out into the Harbour, permitting workmen access to the site of one of the main under water supports for the Bridge on the Dartmouth side of the Harbour.

Final negotiations for Bridge land were ironed out in 1952 and tentative plans were being laid by the Town to widen and improve streets in the Bridge area to provide adequate exit ways for the influx of traffic expected to come from the span which is to be completed about August of 1954.

Public Safety Committee

The uniting of the Police and Fire Departments under the direction of the Public Safety committee was again successfully accomplished during 1952.

Highlight of the year was the installation of traffic lights at two busy downtown intersections, the Commercial and Ochterloney Street corner first. and later a traffic actuated set of lights at the King and Portland intersection.

Plans were also finalized for installation of a set of lights at the very hazardous Five Corners intersection. School safety was studied carefully during the year and every effort was made to provide good traffic markers, warning signals and street crossing patrols as a protection to school students.

Two new Police Patrolmen were added to the regular Police Force and one new Fireman to the Fire Department.

Plans were laid during the year for the construction of a Safety Island to be constructed at the intersection of Prince Albert Road and Ochterloney street, and this work will be completed in 1953.

Special equipment in the form of white gloves and belts were obtained during the year and provided for Police, patrol-men and traffic officers.

Provision was made at the first of this season for funds for the Civil Defence committee to provide for stenographic services, training, buildings and the like. Arrangements were made for some quarters for the committee’s various branches.

Police Department

Addition of several officers to the regular Police Force, brought the Dartmouth Department up to a better size to handle the steadily increasing needs for law enforcement in the fast expanding Harbour Town.

Headed by Police Chief john Lawlor, the Department recorded the busiest year in the history of the Town in 1952 handling some very difficult problems, including a series of breaks which were solved when the responsible parties were apprehended, through Police detection.

Lodged in the Police Departrnent’s lockup during the year were 645 male and 21 female guests, with 78 men being sent to the County jail, while 2 women were also sent to the County jail. Six convicted prisoners left Dartmouth for Dorchester Penitentiary. A total of $5,701.50 were collected by the Department in Town Police court with court costs amounting to $2,374.72. Making a total of $8,076.22.

In police court there were 219 cases of intoxication under the Liquor Control Act, four persons were charged with disturbing the peace. while 41 persons were charged with driving motor vehicles while their ability was impaired. Other minor traffic violations amounted to 142, plus a further 222 parking meter violations. 26 People operated radios in the Town without licenses. and a total of 17 vagrants, one female, were picked up by Police. Twenty-nine Criminal Code violations were tried with three being sent to Dorchester.

Fire Department

With completion of the new high pressure water system the Fire Department operation at the end of 1952 was entering a new era. Now there is plenty of pressure in the Town water mains to provide adequate water for fire fighting purposes in any area of the Town.

This was one of the recommendations of the Board of Fire Underwriters in a survey made in the Town some years ago, and backed up by the Engineering Service Company, and has already resulted in a drop in Town fire insurance rates.

Total fire loss during the twelve months of 1952 amounted to $31,442, according to the annual report of Fire Chief George Patterson.

Of this amount insurance companies covered a total of $26,013. while the uninsured loss amounted to $5,429. and had to be borne by the persons owning the property. There were no serious conflagrations in the year.

A total of five general alarms were responded to during the year, out of a total number of alarms amounting to 216. The good record of the Dartmouth Fire Department and its group of forty volunteer firemen plus the 11 regular men, including the Fire Chief, have received warm praise from Provincial fire authorities.

Board of School Commissioners

The official opening of the magnificent new addition to Notting Park school in North Dartmouth was the highlight of the educational year in Dartmouth in 1952.

The steady increase in population in the Dartmouth district since the end of the War and the resultant jump in the number of the younger school children had forced the Town to provide additional school accommodations for the younger grades with the result that a new school building in itself costing approximately $100,000 was constructed next to the old Notting Park school building, being connected to it with a breezeway.

Gone from the school lineup in Dartmouth is the obsolete old Victoria School on Wyse Road which was razed in 1952 to make way for the modern new school.

Notting Park’s newest addition is worthy of a visit by any ratepayer. Its modern design, well planned and lighted interior, and special equipment aimed to attract and suit the younger pupils is something which is unexcelled anywhere in the Maritimes.

Even with this new school building completed however, the School Board finds itself faced with even more problems, and on the recommendation of the Supervisor of Schools Ian K. Forsyth, and following a thorough investigation by their own committee, the Board recommended at its closing meeting in December of 1952. that immediate action be taken to procure a suitable site in the Prince Arthur Park subdivision in Dartmouth’s south end on which to start the immediate construction of a new “bungalow type” school to provide for the overflow of younger students in this section of the Town, which will be an actuality in 1953.

Use of the Bicentennial Junior High school, almost as a community center at times, continued through 1952 and its spacious design is proving over and over again the need that Dartmouth had for such a building, especially in its beautiful auditorium which has a capacity of more than 1,000 persons.

Home and School Associations, private groups. school groups, sports meets and virtually all musical programs are now being conducted in this school’s auditorium and the school shows promise throughout of being one of the best investments the Town made in the educational field in many years.

School Finances

Expenditures by the Dartmouth Board of School Commissioners in 1952 to cover the operation of the continually expanding Dartmouth school system were the highest ever recorded by the Town.

The total budget called for an amount of $267,081, or an increase of approximately $60,000 over last year’s total expenditure of $207,417.45.

Accounting for the biggest amount of the increase in the budget was the provision for increased teacher’s salaries which jumped from $129,291. in 1951 to about $171,000. in 1952. Increase in fuel costs as accounted for some of the increase in the School Board expenditures. and also the fact that additional staff members were needed at the Junior High School helped send the budget higher. This was actually the first year that the Junior High was operating at about a full capacity for its number of classrooms.

Besides the regular school expenditures in the Town, a further amount of $17.700. had to be provided by the Town to cover Dartmouth‘s proportionate share of the cost of operation of the Halifax County Vocational High School in Halifax. This amount covers only until the end of 1952.

Again in 1952 the schools were very capably directed by the Supervisor of Schools. Ian K. Forsyth. and a very competent staff of teachers which have been described as some of the most capable in the Province.

The addition of Jens Thorup to the Physical Education staff of the schools proved to be a tremendous advantage to the Town, and his efforts in establishing a well-planned training program are meeting with favourable comment all over Nova Scotia.

The high standard of Dartmouth’s public school teaching is also evident in the large number of graduates from Dartmouth students participating in the Provincial Matriculations. Dartmouth rates well above the average in this field it was indicated.

Very efficient Household Science and Industrial Arts classes were conducted during 1952, and the new setup at the Bicentennial Junior High also added much to this program with National mention coming of the setup of machinery and its use in the Industrial Arts section.

Again this year under the joint sponsorship of the Vocational Guidance Department of the Department of Education, and the Dartmouth Board of School Commissioners. a very comprehensive program of adults’ home sewing classes was conducted. and plans are now underway to expand these home classes into several other fields if there are sufficient interested adults.

Town Planning Report

For the first time in the history of the Town, a permanent building inspector was appointed by the Town Planning Board in 1952.

In view of the rapid growth of the Town, tremendous residential development, and prospects for an enormous potential in future years, the 1952 Planning Board decided to recommend to Council that Welsford Symonds, the Town’s Chief Assessor, be appointed as Building Inspector.

As a result of this action. which was approved by Council, all building permits are now first examined and either approved or rejected by the Building Inspector. If they meet with the Building By-law requirements and are recommended by the Inspector they are then given official approval by the Planning Board and Council.

This new system has been working out exceptionally well, providing the Planning Board with opportunity to study more fully other problems faced by the fastest growing Town in the Maritimes, such as Zoning.

The up-to-date building code, passed in 1951, came into full force in 1952, and as a result, a greatly improved building program existed in the Harbour Town during that period. The Planning Board passed on a large number of smaller sub-divisions in 1952 permitting commencement of further private construction of dwellings.

In addition to these, approval was given to the sub-division of the Wyndholme sub-division on Silver’s Hill, one of the largest to be developed in 1952. Construction work is proceeding apace in this sub-division with half a dozen houses well underway and some already occupied.

Further sections of the enormous Crichton Park sub-division were also approved for development and continual construction work is evident in here as new proposed streets are being bull-dozed out to make way for construction equipment waiting to commence erection of new homes. Construction of single home units, and private dwellings of all kinds broke all records ever established for this type of development in a 12 month period. During 1952, the Planning Board gave the o.k. to a total of 125 applications for new buildings, as compared to 73 building permits issued in 1931, an increase of over 50.

Very little commercial or industrial work was commenced in 1952 although work was progressing on establishments for which permits were issued the year previous. Preliminary negotiations were also being opened for new projects which did not receive final approval by December of 1952. Total value of building permits issued in 1952 amounted to $1,153,875, as compared to $949,963 the previous year.

Recreation and Community Services

Further development of baseball diamonds in scattered areas all over the Town in order to promote junior sports and pee wee baseball was undertaken by the Recreation and Community services in 1952.

With a budget increase of approximately $1,000 the committee was able to go ahead with some of the clearing of property for these small midget diamonds. This work is rated as one of the most important items on the list for the committee in an effort to promote the development of the younger children in the various sports.

Further work was undertaken at the Commons field during the year with general levelling of the grounds and repairs to the new bleachers.

Corning under the classification of community services, the committee operated in very close conjunction with the Dartmouth Tourist Bureau, and its sponsors the Dartmouth Junior Board of Trade.

Through arrangements with this committee it was possible for special markers to be erected throughout the Town, directing visitors to the Ferry or other exit points, or also showing them the route to the Tourist Bureau.

A beautifully coloured welcome sign was erected at the main Dartmouth Ferry entrance on Ferry Hill and here the hospitality of the Town was extended to all visitors.

Considerable work was also done in the Tourist promotion field with special cards being distributed to Townspeople to place on tourists cars, extending them a welcome to the Town and pointing out some of the attractions The total registration of tourists through the year as a result climbed to almost 1,400, and this does not touch whatsoever the large numbers of tourists from outside the Province who did not visit the Tourist bureau.

At Victoria Park considerable work was commenced with some extra funds made available for this purpose. The grounds were plowed up and levelled and will be eventually seeded and laid out with suitable walks and gardens to make it an attractive play and rest sport for residents of the North end.

Operation of the Dartmouth swimming pool at the corner of Synott’s Hill and Park Avenue continued as in other years with hundreds of boys and girls participating in the planned Water Safety and Red Cross Swimming competitions arranged through the competent swimming instructors provided by the Town.

The Town grant to the Dartmouth Public Library was increased to $2,000. in 1952 in keeping with the hope of the Committee to add further good reading material to the shelves of the busy library. and also for the provision of other services which have been lacking in the past. Attendance at the library continues to show an upward trend with many persons now availing themselves of the opportunity to visit and read right at the Library rather then taking their books home.

The Cemetery Committee

Working with limited finances the Cemetery Committee continued its long range program of improving Dartmouth cemeteries during 1952 by clearing out of a further large section of the old Public cemetery.

This work has now been underway on the Public cemetery for several years. with each year an additional section being taken in hand, cleared out of old bushes and debris. loamed and seeded with grass to put it in a presentable condition. There still remains two sections of this cemetery go be done and the Cemetery committee hopes to have this completed on the similar basis. of one section a year. Insufficient funds are available to do both sections in one season.

The usual maintenance and repair work was done around Mount Hermon cemetery in 1952. One of the important improvements was the installation of two sections of water pipe, which are now connected with two stand pipes and provides Town water for use in the cemetery, rather then having to rely upon an old spring on the cemetery grounds for this purpose.

A new power mower was purchased during the year and the use of this new equipment has greatly facilitated work at the cemetery and improved the appearance of the grounds. The Cemetery Committee also arranged to have the road and walk edges leading into the cemetery trimmed during the past year and this operation in itself improved very greatly the general appearance of the cemetery.

Although the Committee does not have too much in the way of funds for its operation it has been found that with the newly established lot and grave opening rates as set in 1951 the cemetery is now operating on a self-sustaining basis which is very desirable.

Late 1950s (?) Aerial

dartmouth aerial

A broader aerial picture with enough developments happening to date it with some level of certainty. The Bridge is present, the Avenue is undisturbed. Crichton Park is in the process of construction. Maynard’s Lake is looking full of runoff and lighter in color compared to surrounding lakes from the construction of Lakefront Apartments.

New Metropolitan Map

dartmouth shipyards

There’s no shortage of street grid oddities on this map, post war yet pre-bridge, with two ferries crossing the harbor. Grid oddities include Broom St at the bottom of Maple St, Allison Ave and Prescott that connect Old Ferry Road and Pleasant Street to St. George’s Lane, Seaview and Starr Lane that bisect Hazelhurst from … Read more

Modern Homes

Homes

Monday July 15, 1957: Show modern trend – Modern homes are steadily increasing in number along the Cole Harbor Road and when it recieves its hard surface, already started, will probably mount by the score.

Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 4