A summary of colonial law

“The colonies now belonging to the Crown of Great Britain, exclusive of those under the government of the East India Company, (to which this work does not profess to extend,) are as follows:

In the West Indies and South America:

  1. Antigua, including Barbuda
  2. Barbadoes
  3. British Guiana
  4. Dominica
  5. Grenada
  6. Jamaica
  7. Montserrat
  8. Navis
  9. St. Christopher’s, including Anguilla
  10. St. Lucia
  11. St. Vincent
  12. Tobago
  13. Trinidad
  14. Virgin Islands

In North America, continental and insular:

  1. Bahama Islands
  2. The Bermuda, or Somer’s Islands
  3. Canada, Lower
  4. Canada, Upper
  5. Prince Edward’s Island
  6. New Brunswick
  7. Newfoundland, with part of Labrador
  8. Nova Scotia, including Cape Breton


  1. Cape of Good Hope
  2. Sierra Leone, with the settlements on the Gold Coast

In the Indian Seas:

  1. Ceylon
  2. Mauritius, with the Seychelles

In the South Seas:

  1. New South Wales, with Norfolk Island
  2. Van Dieman’s Land
  3. Western Australia

(In this enumeration of the colonies nothing has been said of Honduras, which has been decided expressly not to be a colony (see ante p.2 n.1.)

These are almost all of the class above described, as Provincial establishments, there being at present no Proprietary government, nor with the exception of Sierra Leone, any Charter Government among the colonial dependencies of Great Britain.”

“The constitution of Nova Scotia is, by royal commission, a representative provincial government, one of the three original forms of the colonial constitutions.. Its legislature is formed upon that of the United Kingdom, and consists of a Council and House of Assembly. The council are twelve in number, at the head of whom are the Chief Justice of the province, who is the president, and the Bishop of Nova Scotia, who ranks next to him.

In 1758, a House of Representatives was formed, agreeably to a constitution granted to the colony, corresponding to that of England.”

Clark, Charles. “A summary of colonial law : the practice of the court of appeals from the plantations and of the laws and their administration in all the colonies; with charters of justice, orders in council, &c.” London : S. Sweet, A. Maxwell, and Stevens; Dublin : R. Milliken, 1834. https://www.canadiana.ca/view/oocihm.54637